WWW Wednesday: Week 4 – June 2017

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On A World Of Words.

The Three W’s stand for:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


 

Hello, hello! I know this is a day late but this past weekend has been full of ups and downs. We visited family for my nieces 5th birthday (up) and are currently on day SIX of no A/C (down). Thankfully its not full summer here yet with only highs in the upper 80’s but with all the humidity its still not a cake walk. The people looked at it yesterday and apparently ordered the part needed but are claiming it wont be in until next Thursday. Needless to say we are now calling around to other places to find find the part and do it ourselves. You would think that paying for a warranty going on our third year and this is the first problem we’ve had would maybe give them the incentive to help more but they really just don’t seem to care. Bleh.


Recently Finished

Romancing Mister Bridgerton
If you love historical romances and haven’t read this series yet, you are missing out! This is definitely one of the top reads of the series tied with The Viscount Who Loved Me. I loved that it wasn’t an instant romance but a build up friendship to romance. Penelope has really become one of my absolute favorites women in the Bridgerton series. I’ve already got the next book on hold from the library.

The Lost Girls
Emotional. Fascinating. Heartbreaking. Uplifting.
So many emotions to describe this book. While I haven’t read many non-fiction books and the ones I have read I didn’t particularly like, this book felt like it was very well written and full of facts. This is such an amazing story of survival, of three women who were kidnapped and held for over 10 years. I enjoyed that it gave a background on all of the key people and interviews/comments from many outside people who at the time had no idea of what was going on in that house and afterwords not just from the victims but those who loved them and worked with them. I am really interested in reading more by Glatt. I really enjoyed his way of telling the story.

The Crown
This final of the series. I plan to have a full review/discussion of this book up soon. I’ll link it when I do!

The Secret Ingredients of Wishes
If you enjoy magical realism this is a book for you. I enjoyed this book as I do with almost any book involving baking. I would absolutely love to have a pie off between Catch and Rachel because seriously there is no down side. There were some elements that I wish had been expanded on but maybe there will be a sequel (fingers crossed). The thought of having the ability to grant wishes is fascinating but also we get to see how much of a burden it can be.

Currently Reading

Dexter in the Dark
As usual I am listening to the audio book for book three in this series. This book seems to have more of a in depth exploration of the Dark Passenger. Honestly I’m not very far into it but am very intrigued by whats going on. I think my favorite part is the relationship that’s budding between Dexter and Cody.

Fear University
This book is the first in its series and was recommended to be by the owner (Nalana) of Book Scents. Nalana works with authors and creates custom candles and scents for their books. This is an urban fantasy/ paranormal romance. I cant tell you the last time I read something this unique in this genre. I am absolutely loving this book. The snark and banter is fantastic. If you enjoy this genre give it a look!

Up Next

Storm of Swords
While I am technically still reading Clash of Kings (almost half way through) this was one of my birthday presents that finally came in the mail this week. Even though its slow going I really am loving this series!

Killing Hour
I can not get enough of some Lisa Gardner. I have this book from the library just waiting for mt to finish Fear University and pick it up! This installment has a new FBI agent, Quincy’s daughter, and I’m really excited to see whats to come from her!

 –Taylor

 

Leave a Reply

