WWW Wednesday: Week 1 – June 2017

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On A World Of Words.

The Three W’s stand for:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Whew. Yesterday was a whirlwind. It started out as a normal stay at home mom day with dishes and laundry but nap time came with a high fever for one of my toddlers. My husband ended up coming home early to stay with one toddler while I took the other to the doctor. When I tried to pick up the medicine the pharmacy was out and wouldn’t have it till the next day. After calling to check with the doctor if that would be ok they sent the prescription to a different pharmacy that wouldn’t have it ready for another two hours. Needless to say a busy day which is why this post is late.

Recently Finished

Dearly Devoted Dexter
I’m seriously loving the Dexter series. He is so funny! I find saying that the oddest thing since, you know, he’s a serial killer and constantly thinks about murder. Oddly I really expected Dexter to do more killing than he has in the books so far. And as much as I love Deb she had me eye rolling quite often with her love interest here. I’m kinda hoping that doesn’t last. Using an audiobook has been great for this series and I plan to continue in that format.

Geekerella
Adorable fandom themed Cinderella retelling! All the fandom love is spot on!
Who doesn’t relate to having close friendships with people you only know through text and social media? This book gives me all the feels, from interacting with the vicious stepsister, the comfort of finding that true friend you can always geek out with, the triumphant confidence of accepting the geek within, and the absolute joy of getting the guy who loves you and all your geekiness. If you love Retellings and are apart of any fandom anywhere I think you’ll enjoy this fun quick read

Savannah Blues
I’ve owned this book for a couple months now. I picked it up at my library’s used book sale. I’m fairly certain I’ve read at least one book by Mary Kay Andrews and since moving to Savannah I’ve enjoyed picking up books set in the city. While this was a mystery and technically what I’d call a “cozy mystery” the main character, Weezie, never once had the thought to be an armature detective or that she could solve the murder before the police. Nope. She wanted nothing to do with it. That alone made this book stand out to me. The romance of the story seemed lacking, maybe it was just because they were pretty wishy-washy and only kind sorta made up at the end. From reading the synopsis of the next book it’s more about BeBe. While this was a neat quick read I doubt I’ll pick up the next one.

Currently Reading

The Angels Share
I actually started the physical book back in March but after a couple chapters I just wasn’t feeling it at the time. I’ve started it over listening to it on audiobook this go around. I just caught up to the point where I had left off in the book. The narrator is good and does a fun southern accent for everybody. Oddly though by listening I find that certain characters annoy me much more now. I really love J. R. Wards work, she has yet to disappoint me let’s hope it stays that way!

Dragonfly in Amber
Here it is finally! I am literally only a few pages in so not much to tell at this point. I did kind of specifically pick this book up right now for a reason. My Goodreads goal for this year was 50 books and this book will mark number 50 for the year! I am really surprised I’ve already hit this goal. I think my problem is I am an overachiever. Last year my goal was 25 books and I read 50. So we’ll just have to see what this year ends up being!

Up Next

The Crown
This is the final book in The Selection series and due back at the library soon so I’m sure I’ll pick it up next!

Romancing Mr Bridgerton
I’m really excited for this book, I love the series, and I’ve only heard good things about it.

Secret Ingredient of Wishes
I have seen this book around and no one of my favorite book review podcasts (Fresh Baked Books) are about to read it so I thought I read along as well!


Do you have a lot of bookish merch? I have barely any! Tell me some of your favorites!!

-Taylor

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: Week 1 – June 2017

  1. Dragonfly in Amber is one of my favorite books! I love the entire series. Savannah Blues is a fun book! I love Mary Kay Andrews; all her books are fun little reads. I keep debating whether to read Geekerella, and I think I will! It really sounds like it’s good!

Leave a Reply

