WWW Wednesday: Week 4 – May 2017

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On A World Of Words.

The Three W’s stand for:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Lots of varity this week. From Non-fiction to Young Adult, Crime Thriller to Historical Romance.img_5309


Just Finished

Julie and Julia

I was slightly disappointed with this book. The movie is one of my favorites so of course I thought the book would be even better. I actually didn’t realize that it was nonfiction when I started reading. I don’t think that was the problem though, there are a good bit of time jumps mid story to explain an incident then coming back to finish the story when really you’ve kind of forgotten what was going on. There was a lot less Julia as well. Overall it wasn’t a bad book but not one I’d read again.

Deja Dead

These are the books that the shows Bones is based from. I’ve heard they are quite different and I can say I definitely see those differences. With the setting in Canada and a good bit of French thrown in, at times it was slightly distracting just because I didn’t understand or know exactly where I was (there is a map in the beginning and all the French is translated but I still find it distracting). The crime and mystery were interesting and I loved that you really saw Brennan’s thought process as she went along with the investigation. Reich can also build some serious suspense. There were a few parts I found myself physically holding my breath caught up in the action. I really liked it and am excited for the next book!

The Heir

This book is the continuation of The Selection series except from Eadlyn, Maxon and America’s daughter, point of view. While I didn’t care too much for Eadlyn in the beginning by the end you are really rooting for her, talk about character transformation. While everything isn’t ‘happily ever after’ just yet I am excited to see where the next book takes her.

An Offer From a Gentleman

The Bridgerton’s are such a great family. I absolutely love them. This has been my favorite of the books so far. Who doesn’t love a Cinderella retelling? Benedict’s dry humor and sarcasm had me giggling (yes giggling) throughout the book. Sophie was a lovable character trying to do the best with what she had with a lovely dose of sarcasm mixed in. Some of my favorite scenes are when Benedict annoys and teases Sophie even so far as to make her throw things. They are absolutely adorable and perfect for each other.

Currently Reading

Clash of Kings

I swear I am making progress. Between the intimidation of such a large book and such an in-depth complicated plot I am taking my time and thoroughly enjoying the story. Seriously it’s one of my absolute favorite worlds.

Ross Poldark

I am listening to the audio book of this one. I’ve seen the first season of the BBC show and loved it. So far the narrator is really great at telling the story and it’s been pretty close to what I remember of the show. At times it does seem to get off plot detailing too much on a minor character but usually brings it around tying everything back in even though it doesn’t feel like that tidbit was essential to the main plot. So far, I can’t say for certain if I’ll pick up the other books but I am enjoying this one.

Next In Line

Geekerella

I have wanted to read this book since I saw someone with it as an ARC. It looks absolutely adorable.

Summer At Little Beach Street Bakery

A fun light read for summer time. This is the second book in the series and I absolutely love the author Jenny Colgan

The Perfect Husband

This was a recommendation for a book similar to Criminal Minds. After reading the synopsis I am eager to read it!


 

I love a varity of genres and to have something of each one close by for whatever my mood strikes me. What are your top 3 genres? Comment below! I’d love to hear from you!

-Taylor

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: Week 4 – May 2017

  1. Good luck with ‘Clash of Kings.’ I stopped after that one because I couldn’t wait to watch the TV series, haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • I am fully caught up on the tv show but I love reading it now and getting even more details for what happens. Im interested in seeing how the books differ. It took me a year to finish GOT so my goal is just to finish this one sooner 😂

Leave a Reply

