Outlander

For the month of March my book group is reading Time Travel themed books. My second pick for this theme was Outlander (my first being Legend). It’s been on my TBR list for a little while now and I’ve put off watching the show in order to read the book first. I find a book like this so hard to review. I enjoyed this book so much, much more than expected, therefore I find myself nit picking small silly things.

There’s an opening quote about missing people that really piqued my interest. “Disappearances, after all, have explanations. Usually.” Seriously, the while quote really made me go into this thinking I might like it more than I originally thought. Originally I went into this book with a little apprehension that I wouldn’t like it or that it would get boring, 850 pages is a lot! Once I started though I could not put it down.

Gabaldon writes beautifully. Accents can be so tough but I feel that she writes them so that you get a feel for the language but not heavy enough to where you cant understand what the character is saying. The main and minor characters have such depth and are interesting without taking away from the main plot. The plot alone is amazing, she weaves this story connecting all of these people in a complicated but intriguing dynamic. Its such a detailed story and thankfully all of the details really add to it rather than bogging it down and making it boring. I can say I never felt bored while reading. There were a few times where it felt the characters where maybe getting a little to comfortable in the setting which was usually remedied but some conflict right around the corner.

The romance aspect was nice but maybe a little sappy even for me. This is me just being nit picky. As much as I like Jamie I find that I love him and Claire together more than anything which makes the story better (face it, at some point we’ve all shipped a main character with someone else or even ourselves so when the main couple are perfect for each other it makes me story better for me).

I really cant wait to see where this story goes. At the moment I have only checked the books out from my local library (Dragonfly in Amber coming soon!) but these book are definitely on my Wish List To Buy!

Have you read the series? Watched the show? Tell me your thoughts!

One thought on “Outlander

Leave a Reply

